China University of Mining and Technology Beijing

No ratings yet
11 Xueyuanlu Haidian District, Beijing 100083,
China University of Mining and Technology is a national key university directly supervised by China Ministry of Education, and is composed of the two operation entities located in Beijing and Xuzhou. It is a research university established on the basis of the former Beijing Institute of Mining & Technology. In 1978, with the approval of State Council, China Institute of Mining and Technology-Beijing(CIMT-Beijing)Graduate School was established to resume enrollment and cultivation of graduate students; in July 1997, with the joint approval of the former China Education Commission (now China Ministry of Education) and Beijing Municipal Government, China University of Mining and Technology-Beijing, or CUMT-Beijing was established and the recruitment of undergraduate students was restored in 1998. CUMT-Beijing is located on Xueyuan Road, the university zone in Haidian District of Beijing, with the National Olympic Park to the east and the Summer Place, the Yuanmingyuan Ruins Park and Xiangshan Park to the west. Its library has a holding of 750,000 volumes and 520,000 E-books.     Giving priority to engineering among other disciplines of science, liberal arts, management, laws and economy, CUMT is one of the key universities in China with mining and safety as its features. It has been listed into the national “211 Project” and the “985 Project Innovation Platform of Preponderant Disciplines”. It is also one of the first universities with doctor and master degree conferring authority and one of the first universities for the Strategic Alliance of Industrial Technology Innovation, with its development supported jointly by the Ministry of Education and China’s State Administration of Work Safety. The predecessor of CUMT was Jiaozuo School of Railroad and Mines in 1909. In 1950 the school was moved from Jiaozuo to Tianjing and renamed China Institute of Mining and Technology (CIMT). In 1952 during the nationwide restructuring of universities and colleges, the mining engineering departments of Tsinghua University, former Beiyang University and Tangshan Institute of Railroad were merged into CIMT, which established a sound basis for its later development. In 1953 CIMT was moved to Beijing and renamed Beijing Institute of Mining and Technology; during the “Cultural Revolution”, the school was relocated and renamed, forming the current pattern of running school in two places. In 1978 approved by the State Council, the Institute restored its former name CIMT and established Beijing Graduate School of CIMT. In 1988 the Institute was formally named China University of Mining and Technology (CUMT). It was identified as one of the key universities in China in 1960 and in 1978. In February 2000 CUMT was transferred to the administration of China Ministry of Education and became one of the state universities directly supervised by the Ministry. The university now has more than 13,000 students, including 5935 graduates, 5253 undergraduates, and 1972 adult education college students.

No Courses, Classes and Workshop added on this Institution.